Skip to content

50th Anniversary of the European Union

March 20, 2007

DATE: 3/21/07
CONTACT: Elizabeth Covington, Executive Director, European Studies Alliance, UW-Madison, (608) 265-8040,


MADISON – Visiting experts from Europe will speak at a European Union/U.S. innovation exchange seminar at the University of Wisconsin-Madison on Wednesday, March 28. The event, sponsored by the UW-Madison’s European Union Center of Excellence (EUCE) and INSITE (Initiative for Studies in Technology Entrepreneurship), will be held in the Pyle Center, 702 Langdon St., at 4:00 p.m. and is free and open to the public.

logoFrom March 18 to 31, a variety of events are being hosted by European embassies, consulates, and EU Centers of Excellence around the country celebrating the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome. The Treaty set in motion the process of European integration. The events are highlighting the potential for mutual benefit from continuing and deepening transatlantic cooperation in efforts to promote research and innovation. An important result of European integration has been the emergence of strong European research and innovation programs.

UW-Madison’s EUCE is one of ten European Centers of Excellence in the U.S. dedicated to advancing the study of the EU.

In Madison, a delegation consisting of experts from the European Commission and the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research, as well as representatives from several European research agencies, will describe some of these European programs. Among the presenters will be the European Commission Delegation’s counselor for Science, Technology and Education, Mary Kavanagh, who will give a talk entitled, “From Rome to 2007: 50 Years of Peace and Prosperity in the EU.”

Moderator Anne Miner, Executive Director of INSITE, will highlight world-wide efforts to promote innovative research and entrepreneurship and identify key UW-Madison initiatives.

Other presenters include:

  • Lorrie Keating Heinemann (Secretary, Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions)
  • Frank Moeschler (European Commission DG Research)
  • Willem Zwalve (Senternovem Innovation Agency)
  • Jarmo Raittila (TEKES Innovation Agency)

A complete schedule of the presentations is available at:


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: